Berkshire Hills Country Club
The story of Berkshire Hills begins in 1924. With financial backing from influential members of the community and also from the General Electric Company, 180 acres of land was purchased on December 22, 1924 for $25,000. World Golf Hall of Fame golf course architect A.W. Tillinghast was hired to design the 18 hole golf course.
Tom Peters was the first golf professional, and Tom Nocker our first greenskeeper. The early membership consisted of 306 founding members. A picturesque and practical clubhouse was quickly completed by 1927.
During the first few years, the game itself could be somewhat difficult as the course remained under construction; but the membership enjoyed what they called "cross-country" golf, passing those holes under construction and playing those nearly completed. Several holes were played twice to ensure an 18 hole round.
Tillinghast completed the 18 hole layout in 1928. The Club grew, strengthened, and improved until the Great Depression when Membership dropped and Club activity diminished. Improvements and capital purchases were practically eliminated. But these hard times knit the membership into a tight loyal group.
In March of 1941, the clubhouse burned to the ground. Seventy-five members joined together and signed obligations to the bank, committing to build a new clubhouse from their own funds if Berkshire Hills defaulted. Incredibly, by mid-summer 1941, a rambling new country style clubhouse was completed. Six months later World War II began and some fifty members of the Club served in the military.
Having weathered that most difficult period, BHCC flourished in the post war years. Lead by good solid management, improvements included new locker rooms, and new modern greens equipment. Additional land was acquired to provide more elbow-room from adjacent housing. Finally, a significant amount of landscaping and course beautification was accomplished. By the mid 1950's, the BHCC was out of debt with all mortgages paid off.
During the 1990's, membership grew to over 500 with a significant waiting list. In 2003, a new Clubhouse was completed containing the Pro Shop, locker rooms, a state of the art kitchen, and what quickly became the leading events space in Berkshire County. The clubhouse is renowned throughout the region for it's incredible surrounding deck and unparalleled views.
Now into it's 9th decade, Tillinghast's Berkshire gem has passed the test of time and appears well positioned for 90 more.......
In 1964 Arnold Palmer and Gene Littler staged an exhibition match at the Hills. Arnie prevailed, 67-72.
World Golf Hall of Fame Architect, A.W. Tillinghast.